Planned MRT Routes

Minsheng-Xizhi Line

A feasibility study of the Minsheng-Xizhi line was approved by the Executive Yuan on December 2011. The line is to be built partly underground and will be partly elevated. It will start from Dadaocheng Harbour beneath Minsheng West Road in Taipei City, then run along Minsheng West and East roads, pass through Minsheng Community, and extend beneath the Keelung River to Neihu District, before changing to an elevated mode and ending at Xintai 5th Road in Xizhi District, New Taipei City.
A comprehensive planning report of this line was submitted to the Ministry of Transportation and Communications for review, and has not yet been approved. The Minsheng-Xizhi line is planned to stretch a total of 19.63 km in length, including a 17.4 km main line and a 2.23 km branch line, and will have eight underground stations, ten elevated stations and one depot located at the Shehou area in Xizhi.

Shezi, Shilin, and Beitou Light Rail Lines

An LRT system with two routes is recommended for the Shezi, Shilin, and Beitou areas. One line will run east to west across the study area and the other north to south across the study area.
1. North-South Route
This will run from Beitou through Zhoumei and Shezi along Chongqing North Road and end at the Xinzhuang line's Daqiaotou Station. The route will be about 9.1 km long and connect 10 stations and one depot.
2. East-West Route
According to the results, recommended by the Taipei City Department of Rapid Transit Systems and the Department of Urban Development, the east-west route will run from Shezi through Zhoumei along Fuguo Road and Zhongcheng Road before terminating near the Tianmu Baseball Stadium. The route will be about 7.5 km long and connect 11 stations and one depot.

Circular Line North Section & South Section

The Circular line North Section & South Section is part of the Circular line, and is regarded as Circular line Phase II. A feasibility study of the Circular line North Section & South Section was approved by the Executive Yuan on November 2014.The South section is 5.6 km in length with six underground stations and the North section is 14.9 km in length with 12 underground stations and one depot.

Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin Line Phase II

The Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin line Phase II will continue along Jincheng Road, New Taipei City where Phase I ends, then switch to an elevated mode after passing Minde Road. It will cross over Chenglin Bridge, run along Zhonghua Road, Bade Street, and Daan Road then turn to Zhongzheng Road before ending at the Xinzhuang line's Huilong Station. The 13.3-kilometer route will have two underground stations and 11 elevated stations.

Eastern Taipei North-South Rail System

Eastern Taipei North-South rail system will connect the Wenhu line, Songshan line, Bannan line and Xinyi line, not only extending operation services to the Wenshan area but also providing transfer services in order to construct a more complete MRT network, enhance efficiency of the mass transportation systems, and improve the traffic around the Neihu Science Park. In accordance with the Mass Rapid Transit Act, a feasibility study for this plan will be undertaken and then submitted to the central government for approval. Upon completion of the aforementioned operations, the subsequent tasks including a comprehensive planning, environmental impact assessment, urban rezoning, land acquisition, and design and construction will proceed.


Provided by: Comprehensive Planning Division

Update: 12/03/2017